Milan Dragway sent their team to Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis to take part in the NHRA Division 3 ET Bracket Finals competition. The event is a competition among 16 tracks in the division and about 600 racers with four main classes of racing to win. Each track can bring a 38 person team; they’re always stacked with their best drivers. This event is like the Super Bowl for bracket racers. Many drivers never even dream they could win this competition.


This year, Team Milan took the event by storm as Carl Keil of Rossford, Ohio became the NHRA Division 3 Super Pro Champion and Johnnie Cook from Howell, MI the NHRA Division 3 Sportsman Champion. These two drivers will advance on to Pomona, California to race against the eight toughest competitors from around the country. They will face off in each of these classes from November 10-12 for the ultimate honor, the National Championship. Although these other competitors are tough, Keil and Cook are forces to be reckoned with themselves.


Not only did Keil and Cook win their classes, but they were enormously helpful in Team Milan clinching the title of NHRA Division 3 Team Champion. Milan Dragway was honored to bring this title home as they have not since 2009. The champion drivers didn’t snag this final title on their own though as we saw Joe Novak Sr. of Carleton, MI make it down to the final 3 bikes in Super Pro Motorcycle. David Mullins, Milan, MI, made it through 5 of 8 rounds of competition in Pro.


Cook may have been the champion of Sportsman, but all of the Sportsman racers performed exceptionally and contributed half of the team points to the team championship total alone. 


Team Milan Competitors and points contributed to the total:

Pro: Jason Proffitt Brownstown, MI, Greg McCurry South Lyon, MI, John Simone Amherstburg, Ontario, Wes Buckley Rossford, OH (1), Johnnie Cook Howell, MI, Bryan Panasiewicz Southfield, MI (1), Sue Campbell Belleville, MI (1), AJ Owen Milan, MI, Dustin Loynes Byron, MI, Andy Kasienc Saint Clair Shores, MI (1), Joe Mabelitini Romulus, MI, David Mullins Milan, MI (4), Lucas Buckley Rossford, OH, Rick Buyck Belleville, MI

Super Pro: Carl Keil Rossford, OH (8), Will Crawford Westland, MI (1), Tim Buckley Rossford, OH (2014 and 2016 NHRA Div 3 Super Pro Champion), Jack Kassin Saint Clair Shoes, MI (1), Dave Degregorio Coldwater, MI, Kendallyn Jacobs Toledo, OH (2), Josh Kull Wayne, MI, David Freeland Findlay, OH, Dr. Don Restauri Jr. Howell, MI, Greg Koesel Monroe, MI

Super Pro Motorcycle: Joe Novak Sr. Carleton, MI (4)

Sportsman: Greg McCurry South Lyon, MI (1), Codie Balcom Maybee, MI, Johnnie Cook Howell, MI (8), Marlon Howes Livonia, MI (1, 2016 NHRA Div 3 Sportsman Champion), Kevin Assad Elmore, OH (1), Brandon Bennett Perrysburg, OH, Scott Fennell Swanton, OH (2), Anthony Gabriel Maybee, MI (3), Eric Beauch Temperance, MI (1), Jason Prater Toledo, OH (1), Chris Klein Brownstown, MI (3), Josh Morgan Lambertville, MI (3), Tyler Nelkin West Bloomfield, MI (3)